Home » Amazing kids » The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

the-book-thief

This book will be known as one of my top books.

My good friend read it and said to me:  “Why would you enjoy reading that?”

When I hear that terminology I think…”enjoy reading this book?” When I read this book I don’t think of the word “enjoy” FIRST.

The book has a great purposes.

  1. I think of learning about this period.
  2. I think of hard, cold facts that have sometimes disturbing moments in it.
  3. It seems like today’s youth isn’t very aware of what really happened to the Jews in the days of Hitler.  This is a great book to educate.
  4. I think of what people can do when they are put in circumstances that appear hopeless.  I think that people can do small things that make a difference even when their hands appear tied behind their backs.
  5. I think of what people can do when they think their family could be in danger by something that they do.
  6. I think of how people can panic if they feel they will be turned in.  Even if they are innocent because people were turned in and punished regardless of whether they were guilty or not.
  7. I liked having Death tell the story.  He knows so much more of what happens than anyone else can because of who he is.  He know so many people’s stories and it helps to tie up a lot of loose ends that wouldn’t get tied up.

I’ll admit that it isn’t always roses and sunshine in this book but it has such beautiful purpose that I can’t help but add it to my favorites.

I can also admit to enjoying the book.  Because I enjoy learning about those purposes but enjoying is not what everyone else would picture as enjoyment.

I say let the things of darkness and what Hitler did be made known to all.  What happened needs to be avoided at all cost in the future.  I also think it adds to his condemnation.   It’s good to study his methods and to be aware if someone tries it again.  Knowledge is power.  That is what Hitler tried to take away from EVERYONE.  Even those in his own country were kept in darkness.


1 Comment

  1. Zachtacular1 says:

    I read this book last December and was amazed by it. Very powerful book.

    http://lifeismuyfantastico.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment

Categories